‘One-bedroom-apartment Guests’

The apartment is quiet now. Just about everything is back in its place. The Easter holiday has come and gone, and with it, our houseguests came, did their damage, and are now gone as well.

I should perhaps clarify that by ‘houseguests’ I mean ‘one-bedroom apartment guests’, which is a more appropriate term for anyone staying with us. While we’re at it, let’s change ‘guests’ to my husband’s sister, her husband and their three children. Yes, it was quite a week in our one bedroom apartment also known as my place of work.

Normally I love working from home. I love lingering in the morning over my hot tea. I love sitting down to my computer to start my day off translating. Normally. Normally there are not 5 extra people (3 of whom are under the age of 9) living in my apartment, sleeping on the floor of what is actually my ‘office.’

I do not actually have the luxury of an office in my apartment. I do not have a door to close. I do not have a room of my own. Instead I have a desk. I have a corner. I have my spot. Try explaining that to a 4 year old.

Last week I missed having an office. I missed having a place to be and a certain time to be there. I missed the excuse to rush out of the house because otherwise ‘I’ll be late!’ That’s the problem. There is no late when your office is your apartment. There is no need to rush off and no place to actually rush off to. But there is still work to be done. 5000 words to be exact. Guests don’t seem to know quite what it means to work from home. They seem to believe that working from home is more like lounging around all day. They seem to believe that it is an easy life.

My work proved to be extra challenging last week. And as is often the case, while last week I didn’t know how I was going to get it all done. This week I have only time.

Leave a Reply

