Berliner Mundart

This sign was seen at a new fleamarket known as the Nowkoelln Flowmarkt (which is as Denglish as they come!) in the Neukölln district of Berlin a few weeks ago. A couple of people were selling crepes at the market and this was one of their homemade signs.

IMG_2816

When I asked the woman making the crepes what the sign meant, she shrugged her shoulders and said she didn’t know. I can only assume that it is a literal translation of the German phrase “uns läuft das Wasser im Mund zusammen.” A more sensible English translation might be “it makes our mouths water” or just “mouth-watering.”

The crepes were good, by the way, though I don’t know that the water in my mouth ran together any more than my mouth watered.

*The Neukölln fleamarket takes place every third Sunday of the month. The next one is this upcoming Sunday, July 18, on the Maybachufer.

Leave a comment